

BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING MINUTES

John A. Krings, President John Benbow, Jr. Troy Bier Larry Davis Sandra K. Hett Katie Medina Julie Timm

February 13, 2023

SPECIAL BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING OPEN SESSION

LOCATION: Thomas A. Lenk Educational Center, 510 Peach Street, Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494 *Conference Room A/B*

TIME: Immediately Following Regular Board of Education Meeting at 6:00 p.m.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT: John Benbow, Troy Bier, Larry Davis, Sandra Hett, John Krings, Katie Medina, Julie Timm

ADMINISTRATION PRESENT: Craig Broeren, Aaron Nelson, Brian Oswall

President John Krings called the meeting to order at 7:16 p.m.

Roll Call

Motion by Sandra Hett, seconded by Troy Bier to move into closed session pursuant to Wis. Stats. §19.85(1)(c)(g) for the purpose of considering an individual employee resignation request, and to discuss strategy around oral or written advice from legal counsel concerning potential litigation in which the District is or may likely become involved. Motion carried unanimously on a roll call vote.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Julie Timm to move into open session at 7:52 p.m. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Troy Bier, seconded by Katie Medina to approve of the resignation request of Mary Kenas effective February 14, 2023 with a requirement to pay liquidated damages owed. Motion carried on a vote of 6-1. Larry Davis voted no.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Troy Bier to approve to make a contribution towards the costs of the City of Wisconsin Rapids' hiring of an attorney and a valuation consultant for purposes of litigation before the Tax Appeals Commission regarding objections by an entity and its successors for tax assessments on several parcels. This contribution would be pro-rated based upon each taxation district's share of taxes received on the various parcels, and would be for preliminary research, evaluation, and counsel. Motion carried unanimously on a roll call vote.

Mr. Krings adjourned the meeting at 7:55 p.m.

John a. Miring

John A. Krings – President

Maurine Hodgson - Secretary

Larry Davis - Clerk